Scholarship Awards Celebration


Welcome to the ELCA Fund for Leaders 2021 Scholarship Awards Celebration! This virtual event was streamed live on Friday, Oct. 1, 7 p.m. Central time. Watch the recording of the event above.

View the interactive program book and videos for this year’s new scholarship recipients.



ELCA Fund for Leaders 
2021 Scholarship Awards Celebration

Friday, Oct. 1, 7 p.m. Central time



Welcome and Director’s Report
The Rev. Marissa Krey
Director, ELCA Fund for Leaders, and Director, Mission Funding

A Message from the Chair, ELCA Conference of Bishops
The Rev. Tracie L. Bartholomew
Bishop, ELCA New Jersey Synod
Chair, ELCA Conference of Bishops

The Rev. Dr. Meghan Aelabouni
ELCA Theologian in Residence for the Middle East, North Africa and the Evangelical
Lutheran Church in Jordan and the Holy Land

Presentation of Scholarship Recipients
The Rev. Caitlin Kurtz
Pastor, Zion Lutheran Church, Jonestown, Pa.

The Rev. Elizabeth Eckman
Associate Pastor, St. John’s Lutheran Church, Shiremanstown, Pa.

The Rev. Ruben Duran
Senior Advisor, ELCA New Ministry Development

The Rev. Christopher Otten
Senior Director, ELCA Federal Chaplaincy

Appreciation for New Endowment Funds
Fred Black
Member, Fund for Leaders Leadership Table

With greetings from:
The Rev. Dr. Robin Steinke
President, Luther Seminary

The Rev. Dr. James Nieman
President, Lutheran School of Theology at Chicago

The Rev. Dr. Mary Hinkle Shore
Rector and Dean, Lutheran Theological Southern Seminary of Lenoir-Rhyne University

The Rev. Dr. Raymond Pickett
Rector, Pacific Lutheran Theological Seminary

The Rev. Dr. Kathryn Kleinhans
Dean, Trinity Lutheran Seminary at Capital University

The Rev. Dr. R. Guy Erwin
President, United Lutheran Seminary

Dr. Kristin Johnston Largen
President, Wartburg Theological Seminary

Also featuring:
“Show Up!” video
Spoken word artist Joe Davis

Thank-you video from ELCA Fund for Leaders 2021 scholarship recipients

Closing Remarks and Benediction
The Rev. Elizabeth A. Eaton
Presiding Bishop, Evangelical Lutheran Church in America

Fund for Leaders